I’m trying something new

Last week I had an experience that I would recommend to anyone interested in the Digital Humanities/Digital History/Digital tools for pedagogy, I attended part of THAT Camp Kentucky. Dr. Kelland was planning to attend and was kind enough to invite me along to Lexington. It was a very interesting day. For those of you who are not familiar THAT Camp, which stands for The Humanities And Technology Camp, follows an un-conference model with every attendee able to contribute to sessions and decide the course of the three day conference. It was a lot of fun and I am going to include the link to the THAT Camp Kentucky webpage below with a link to a tool I learned at camp that I am hoping to use in my internship.

My Internship is with a historic house museum and Metro Parks site, Riverside, The Farnsley-Moremen Landing. It is a super neat house and surrounding property in Southwest Louisville right on the Ohio River.

Here is a (hopefully working) shortcut to the THAT Camp Kentucky page, http://kentucky2014.thatcamp.org/, feel free to check out what we learned. This link will hopefully send you to a short and not very detailed timeline of my life, [timeline height=’100%’ font=’Bevan-PotanoSans’ maptype=’toner’ lang=’en’ src=’https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/pub?key=0Ast6bWOCezv-dHhVZ1loQ1B1RlhPZkhTN2pBWDNON1E&output=html’ ], the tool uses Google spreadsheets to create intricate timelines of events that can be used for class projects or note taking. You can even embed images or video clips!

3 thoughts on “I’m trying something new

  1. Anonymous June 4, 2014 / 1:57 pm

    The THAT Camp sounds like a very interesting idea. I’m really glad you are interning at Riverside. I worked there eight years ago and really want them to grow. I hope you can do some cool stuff with them!

  2. savannahldarr June 4, 2014 / 1:59 pm

    The THAT Camp sounds like a very interesting idea. I’m really glad you are interning at Riverside. I worked there eight years ago and really want them to grow. I hope you can do some cool stuff with them!

  3. katymorrison4 June 4, 2014 / 3:19 pm

    Thanks. I’m really enjoying it there so far. I am hoping to do some interesting things with the interpretation of the chapel.

Leave a Reply

